Habits 2 Goals Premium
Habits 2 Goals: The Habit Factor® Podcast with Martin Grunburg
The 36 Hour Fast (Once a Week) Part III
0:00
-25:42

The 36 Hour Fast (Once a Week) Part III

"Monk Fasting" for improved health, willpower and self discipline.

“The only discipline that lasts is self-discipline.” ~Bum Phillips

This Habits 2 Goals episode is FREE for ALL subscribers.


It’s baaaaaack…

The 36-hour, (once a week), fast

***WARNING** Please do your own research and consult your doctor before altering your diet.***


What is it? Why do it? And, the backstory.

In 2019, (at 51), I came to the sudden awareness that I’d never gone a day without eating.

I wondered if I could fast for an entire day.

The only way to find out… challenge myself.

My plan was to cease eating around 8 p.m. on Sunday. Then, see if I could make it through Monday without food.

If I could then make it to Tuesday at 8 a.m., I’d have gone 36 hours.


The first fast was brutal!

Afterward, I recall saying, “Maybe I’ll try that again next year.”

Then a day went by and I said, “Maybe I’ll do that again next month.”

Then another few days went by and I said, “I’m going to do that again next Monday!”

The next thing I knew, it was 30 weeks later…

30 consecutive weeks of fasting – 36 hours, once per week.

I share the experience on a couple of previous podcast episodes.

—» LINK & LINK


Why fast in the first place?

Reason #1: Self control

I wanted to find out WHO was in control.

Was it my impulses and eating habits or was it my mindfulness and willpower?

I love Pythagoras’ observation:

“No man is free who cannot command himself.”

Could I command myself for those 36 hours?

Freedom and family are top values.

Am I really free if I cannot command myself?

Am I in control?

Let’s find out…


Reason #2: Experiment!

As important as habits, rituals and routines are that support our goals and ideals, it’s equally important to experiment.

See Dynamism (episode).

“All life is an experiment, the more experiments you make the better.” ~R.W. Emerson

By experimenting, I learned firsthand an entirely different level of self-discipline and interestingly, gained a new level of freedom.

“Life is a succession of lessons which must be lived to be understood."
~R.W. Emerson

In Siddharta by Hermann Hess, Siddhartha’s mantra is…

I can think. I can wait. I can fast.

These were things within Siddhartha’s control.

Few things in life are in within our control.

What we eat and when we eat ought to be.

Yet, for most, they are not.

Ironically, most people think they are in control of what and when they eat yet, they have never tested that belief.

Fasting is a great way to test that assumption.

It stands to reason that if one cannot control what they eat, when they it, they really do not control very much.


Reason #3: Health and wellness.

Here are just a few of the reported health and wellness benefits of fasting:

  • Fights inflammation

  • Aids blood sugar control; reduces insulin resistance

  • Aids weight loss and reduced fat

  • increases growth hormone

  • Aids heart health

  • Suspected of aiding cancer prevention

  • Aids longevity

  • Improves clarity

  • Enhances mindfulness

  • Enhances spirituality. They don’t call it a “Monk Fast” for nothing. For the record, I’d never heard that term until 2023!


How I perform the fast…

First, the disclaimer once again: I AM NOT A DOCTOR. PLEASE VISIT YOUR DOCTOR AND DISCUSS ANY CHANGES TO YOUR DIET FIRST.

For better or worse, I dove head-first into this experiment with almost no research.

I had no idea there are terms like “dirty” fasting.

To get through the day, I will probably have about 5-6 cups of hot tea and drink a lot of water, sometimes carbonated.

I also have coffee in the morning.

That coffee has a touch of coconut oil and sometimes I’ll add a touch of butter.

Apparently, this is known as “Fat-Fasting”. I didn’t know that.

Purists are likely to say that those are calories and it’s a “dirty fast.”

For me, this experiment is about health and I’m confident that those fats are healthy.

Further, the reduction in calories from a typical day of 2,000+ to approximately 50 is fasting.

Less than 100 calories (far less), during a thirty-six hours period is substantial.

I will also take my usual dose of psyllium husk (approx a tablespoon) with some salmon oils, around noon.


So there you have it, the quick and “dirty” What? Why? and How?

The challenge was to complete every Monday (all five) in October; that happens today.

At 55, I expect that I will continue to test, experiment and explore.

The good news; it’s week five and it appears that I’m in control.

I can think. I can wait. I can fast.

Enjoy the show!

~mg


***Get the inspiring, free and world’s first, HABITS to GOALS tracking template here: https://thehabitfactor.com/templates


If you’d like to understand human behavior at an even deeper level, learn more about the “Three Circles of Behavior Echo-System” which is featured in the book, “EVERYTHING!


I teach and coach organizations and individuals worldwide how to best utilize and leverage “The Three Circles of Behavior Echo-System” and the P.A.R.R. [Plan, Act, Record & Reassess] methodology to craft game-changing habits on-demand.

Check out our latest cohort offering, the waitlist is now open: The 28-Day Breakthrough!


MORE:The Three Circles of Behavior Echo-System” / The Grunburg Behavior Model is a holistic, fluid, and dynamic behavior-change model. It’s the first behavior-change model to demonstrate how our thoughts, feelings, behaviors, and even our environment vibrate (echo and reverberate) to influence each other. Hence, the “Echo-System.”

Optimize your behaviors – cultivate habits and skills – at will and on demand.

Background info here.


*Recently Awarded: “Finalist: Self-help, Motivation”
International Book Awards:
EVERYTHING is a F*cking STORY.

Visit https://thehabitfactor.com/templates

To learn more about P.A.R.R., just Google “P.A.R.R. and The Habit Factor.”

Get The Habit Factor® FREE with your audible trial! https://audibletrial.com/habits2goals

Feedspot’s “Top 10 Habit Podcasts You Must Follow in 2021

New listeners, grab your free habits 2 goals tracking template here: https://thehabitfactor.com/templates

FREE copy of As a Man Thinketh (PDF) right here: As a Man Thinketh

Subscribe iTunes here! Subscribe: Android

0 Comments
Habits 2 Goals Premium
Habits 2 Goals: The Habit Factor® Podcast with Martin Grunburg
WE ARE NOW LIVE ON SUBSTACK w/ H2G Premium Content!
If you’ve ever struggled to achieve your goals you are not alone! The reason just might be because ALL prior goal achievement methods missed ONE key element— habit!
That's right, The Habit Factor® (bestselling book and app) exposed a timeless truth that helped to launch an entirely new genre of productivity apps (habit trackers) and help thousands around the world achieve their goals faster!
There’s a reason top coaches, consultants, trainers, Professional athletes, Olympians, PhD’s and the very best learning institutions world-wide have adopted and recommend The Habit Factor®.
Learn The Habit Factor's method for goal achievement and how to use Habit Alignment Technology™ to achieve your most important goals faster than you ever thought possible!
Learn more at: http://thehabitfactor.com